Owls outclass Kookaburras in final

September 09, 2017

Benalla Table Tennis Club’s winter pennant grand finals saw its best players compete against each other in action-packed matches.

In the A-grade final, a fired-up Owls outfit came to play, showing their class to overcome Kookaburras 3-1 in a spectacular match.

Top player, John Bajada starred for Owls in the pressure cooker of finals to win both singles match ups. Team-mate Steve McCallum was in fine touch, playing impressively to win a singles in three hard sets to seal the victory.

Kookaburras’ Brian Harrington and Jeff Austen were no match for their determined opponents and could only salvage the doubles in a hard-fought clash.


The in-form Jack McNulty took Gliders to a 3-2 victory against Numbats after trailing early in the match.

He stayed focused to account for both singles in style, with the final singles against top player Ray Grant deciding the match. McNulty prevailed in the 21-16, 12-21, 21-17 three-set victory.

Team-mate Richard Morton put in a strong supporting performance to snare a singles in straight sets.

Numbats’ Grant played well to win a singles.

Talented junior Sienna Irwin was in good form, playing great shots to combine with Grant for an impressive doubles victory.


A determined Hawks unit fought back after a slow start to win their grand final with a convincing 3-1 victory over Crickets.

Top player James Young was the star of the match, playing strongly to account for both singles in a fine performance.

He had good support from Kaye Grosser, who showed her class to combine with Young for a straight-sets doubles victory in an awesome display.

Heather Crawford was in fine touch for Crickets, winning the first singles in straight sets.

Ann Degan tried hard to make an impact, but found the opposition too strong.

Leading players:

A-Grade: John Bajada, 22 wins

B-Grade: Ray Grant, 20 wins

C-Grade: James Young, 18 wins


A-grade: In an exciting grand final the Falcons defeated top team the Bombers, 3-2.

Cooper Irwin won both of his singles rubbers, while team-mate Chris Cooney won a singles. The Bombers won the doubles but it was not enough for the win.

A-reserve: The Farmers defeated the Tigers 4-1. Pete Smith won both of his singles, while team-mate Damien Young also won a singles.

B-grade: The Cockies maintained their supremacy to win the grand final 4-1 against the Vixens.

Tonight the presentation of awards will be held at the Tatong Tavern with meals starting at 6.30pm.

More in Benalla Ensign News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text