Season’s best recognised

October 07, 2017

Benalla Hockey Club held its junior and senior presentation night recently. Best and fairest awards went to Perry Plex, Mel Gillies, and Dave McIntyre.

Benalla Hockey Club celebrated a successful year with its presentation night recently.

The junior awards started the night, with seven awards for the under-13 sixes team and four for the under-15 team.

Best-and-fairest awards went to Zoe Grundy and Perry Plex, with the under-18 winner Evan Dowe.

Evan also won the Bernice O’Brien under-18 player of the year award.

Benalla’s senior teams had a stellar year, with the men B-grade premiers and the women placing third in the Goulburn Valley Hockey Association B-grade competition.

Senior best-and-fairests went to Mel Gillies and David McIntyre, who also won the association’s B-grade most valuable players.

Junior clubperson went to Thomas Hill for his work with junior development and umpiring.

Senior awards voted on by members were: best clubperson — Roxanne Dowe and Marty Gillies (joint), Annie Fraser best all-round sportswoman — Mel Gillies, and the inaugural Don Berry best all-round sportsman — Marty Gillies.

A life membership was awarded to Mark Welsh, for his hard work supporting the club during the past decades.

Mark was instrumental in developing the hockey clubrooms at Churchill Reserve, and coaching minkey hockey. He also played in the men’s steam and worked hard on the committee.

Other awards (U13; U15; women’s and men’s)

Coach’s award: Sarah Farley; Alex Dowe; Sarah Chittick and Latham Carroll.

Most improved: Charlie Grimwade; Tyler Wright; Siobhan Higgins and Nick Nowland.

Encouragement award: Liana Turner; Ankur Singh; Suzanne Wright and John Chittick.

Most consistent (U13): Cindy Daws and Alex White.

Best first year player: Junior — Eloise McDonald; senior — Shaun Findlow.

More in Benalla Ensign News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text