Benalla bowls

By Benalla Ensign


This week as been a very busy week at the Benalla Bowls Club.

Sunday, September 16, was the RSL State Fours Championship, with 16 teams of four coming from Shepparton, Mulwala, Violet Town and Benalla.

Best last game winner was B and L Armstrong along with J and H Hodder, from Benalla.

Runner up for the day also from Benalla was the team of, J. Stevens, P. Merkel, S. Gardner and J. Dennis. Winners again from Benalla the team of M. Robertson, B. Hogg, A. Daws and J. Hastie, this team will go onto Melbourne to represent the area.

Saturday, September 15, was pennant practice with 60 players who played for three hours in compaction format in a difficult day weather wise.

Wednesday, September 12, four Ladies ventured to Corowa Civic BC to play in the Opening Day for the Ladies in the O&M Bowls Region. 32 teams from the Bowls Region were at Corowa with the Benalla girls coming out on top. The Benalla team was, D. Tilbury, R. Sheppard, C. Chuke and L. Armstrong

Friday, September 14, 44 players, 22 teams of pairs played in the regular Friday Jackpot Pairs

Winners: I. Brond and R. Wallace with 2 wins plus 12

Runner up: J. Wood and V. Wood

Wednesday September 12

22 teams of triples played in the regular Wednesday Jackpot. Teams came from Mansfield, Moira and Benalla.

Winners: T. Nichol, D. Vameron, M. Walsh with two wins plus 10

Runner up: W. Armstrong, P. Merkel and J. Stevens

Indoor Bowls

Tuesday, September 11, Three games of eight ends were played

Winners: R. Nalder, M. Cromie, Jack Lemin, V. Pocknall with three wins plus 22 shots

Runner up: With two wins plus eight the team of D. McIntyre, S Holmes and S. Zanin.

Senior citizens

Tuesday, September 11

Winner: R. Charlwood, N. Elkan, T. Pepper, P. Madden.

Runner up: R. Elkan, J. Pedler, H. Sharp,V. Pepper.

Friday September 14

Winner: R. Elkan, J. Holmes, H. Harper, R. Harper.

Runner up: R. Charlwood, M. Ryan, L. Scholz, L. Saunders.

Saturday, September 15

Winner: P. Hay, J. Landewee, H. Harper, R. Harper.

Runner up: A. Morris, M. Lyons, M. Cromie.