Excellence rewarded

By Jamie Lowe

Deniliquin Swimming Club recently held the presentation of Australian Junior Excellence Program (JX) awards for the 2018-19 season.

The awards were presented to 11 local swimmers at the club’s first time trial for the 2019-20 season on Tuesday, November 12.

JX recognises, rewards and encourages junior swimmers who, through their development of aquatic skills and fitness, achieve a high standard of swimming excellence.

Swimmers aged from nine to 16 years who accomplish times set by Swimming Australia qualify at Gold, Silver, Bronze or Blue standard, depending on their best performances during the season.

Awards are given for each stroke, with Deniliquin’s award winners each receiving their honours in either freestyle, backstroke, breaststroke or butterfly.

Award winners were as follows: Elena Mulham, Isla Ho, Jai Park, Megan Lawson (Silver), Macy Butcher, Matilda Whittakers, Abbey Lawson (Bronze), Oscar Thompson, Phoebe Newman, Zarly Horne and Kate Westcott (Blue).

President Melissa Westcott said Tuesday’s time trials were an ideal preparation for the swimmers’ first carnival of the season.

The local club will have ‘‘about 10’’ swimmers competing at the first Riverina carnival at Wagga tomorrow.

“This has been our second week in the pool and we’re straight into the season with a carnival,” Westcott said.

“Membership numbers are up on last year with 60 swimmers signed up for the season, so there are some promising signs for the club’s future.

“Numbers at training have been good too, with plenty of swimmers jumping in the pool for time trials on Tuesday.

“We held a barbecue afterwards to celebrate. We plan to hold a barbecue every second Tuesday.”

Training for the season will be held each night from Monday to Friday from 4pm, with the club hosting a swimming carnival on Saturday, January 11.