Echuca and Campaspe police honoured with Victoria Police awards

By Ivy Jensen

SIX Campaspe police officers have been recognised for their outstanding efforts in the force.

They were among 60 officers from around central Victoria to be honoured at the Victoria Police Awards ceremony in Bendigo on Wednesday.

Echuca Sergeants Shane Kervin and Justin McAuley, Leading Senior Constable Dale Simpson and Senior Constable Bren Lodi of Campaspe Highway Patrol received medals for ethical service over a lengthy period of time.

Echuca's Leading Senior Constable Tanner Christie, along with Bendigo-based Sgt Grant Thompson, Leading Snr Constables Danny Wolters and John Atley, Detective Snr Constable Renee Campbell and Snr Constable Bianca Cola were commended for their work with the Campaspe Crime Taskforce.

They were part of the taskforce that focused on reducing crime in Campaspe Shire between January 6 and March 9.

Echuca's Senior Sergeant Mick Carroll said the team achieved significant decreases in volume crime during this time.

“They held the people responsible for some of that crime to account, by putting them before the courts,” he said.

“Tanner and the rest of the team did a great job.”

Snr Sgt Carroll said it was pleasing to see police members being recognised for long and ethical service to the community.

“Policing can be a very difficult and at times thankless job and it is great to see the hard work of these police officers being thanked for their service,” he said.

Awards included Victoria Police Service Medals, National Medals, National Police Service Medals and Divisional Commendations.

Medals were presented by Western Region’s Assistant Commissioner Cindy Millen and Superintendent John Kearny.