AAP Rugby

Kangaroos drawn with minnows in RLWC group

By AAP Newswire

Australia have been drawn alongside Fiji, Scotland, Italy in Group B of the 2021 Rugby League World Cup in England

The draw was conducted by Prince Harry at Buckingham Palace on Thursday with 16 nations taking part in the event, which will be opened by England's Group A clash against Samoa at Newcastle's St James' Park on 23 October.

France and Greece make up the remainder of Group A with New Zealand, Lebanon, Jamaica and Ireland drawn in Group C.

Tonga, PNG, Wales and the Cook Islands form Group D.

Fixtures dates for the tournament have yet to be announced but EPL grounds like Old Trafford, Anfield, the Emirates Stadium are among the 18 venues being used.

The women's event will for the first time run concurrently to the men's with the Jillarooos drawn in Group A with New Zealand, France and the Cook Islands.

England, Papua New Guinea, Canada, Brazil make up Group B.

In the wheelchair tournament, which will also run simultaneously, England, Australia, Spain, Norway are drawn in Group A with France, Wales, Scotland and the USA in Group B.