GVL’s Top 50 players

By Aydin Payne

District football expert John 'JR' Ryan has released his top 50 players in the Goulburn Valley League.

Often controversial, JR's second attempt this season at naming the best players in the competition is certain to get people talking.

Following his mid-season reveal, the Tatura icon has shifted his top-10 around following their performances in the second half of the season.

Echuca co-coach Andrew Walker was crowned the No.1 footballer, moving up from fourth position from the May edition.

Despite being recently crowned as this season's Morrison Medal winner, Kyabram's Mick Mattingly has remained in second spot.

Seymour's talented midfielder Jason Cole dropped from first to third spot, while Kyabram's Pat Weardon slots in at four.

Weardon's teammate Lachie Smith drops two spots and slides into fifth position, while Echuca defender Cam Valentine sits in sixth.

Euroa's in-and-under on-baller JD Hayes has risen three spots to seventh and Benalla's Will Martiniello rises one to lock in eighth.

Kyabram powerhouse forward Brad Mangan should have bought a ticket in last night's $150 million Powerball Jackpot after luck went his way.

Mangan's 34-goal effort since the interleague bye has him lodged inside the top 10 after not featuring in the top 50 in May.

And Seymour's silky mover Zac Keogh rounds out the top 10 after rising from 11th in May.

As always, there were a number of players that can count themselves unlucky to not feature higher, most noticeably Rochester's Nathan Marrone, Benalla's Dave Mennen and Kyabram's Kyle Mueller.

After the interleague bye, Marrone polled eight times from his remaining 12 games and finished the Morrison Medal count on 21 votes.

However, the Rochester midfield bull did rise from rank 33 to 14 in JR's most recent list.

JR must rarely visit the Benalla Showgrounds, following Mennen's blistering end to the season that consisted of two best-on-ground efforts and tied for third on the Morrison Medal count.

Mueller capped a stunning season taking out the leading goal-kicker award with 66 majors from his campaign.

Perhaps the most glaring omission was Tatura's Jamason Daniels, who finished in the league count's top five, despite missing a number of games this season.

John JR Ryan's top 50 Goulburn Valley League players:

50. Orien Kerr (Shepp)

49. Matt Rendina (Utd)

48. Will Hetherington (Moor)

47. Matt Shannon (Tat)

46. David Mennen (Ben)

45. Noah Wheeler (Ech)

44. Darby Henderson (Ech)

43. Jobee Warde (Ech)

42. Jonty Wardle (Shepp)

41. Luke McKenna (Ech)

40. Joel Brett (Shepp)

39. Chris Welsh (Ben)

38. Tom Preece (Swans)

37. Tom Freeman (Sey)

36. Shane Neaves (Utd)

35. Luke Morris (Ky)

34. Jett Trotter (Eur)

33. Patty Marks (Mans)

32. Xavier Stevenson (Shepp)

31. Zac Norris (Ky)

30. Peter Faulks (Ech)

29. Matt Brett (Shepp)

28. Brett Mahoney (Mans)

27. Ted Lindon (Shepp)

26. Kayne Pettifer (Ky)

25. Kane Morris (Ech)

24. Brad Whitford (Ky)

23. Sean Martin (Tat)

22. Tom Sheldon (Ky)

21. Nick Fothergill (Tat)

20. Angus Byrne (Ech)

19. Ash Holland (Shepp)

18. James Gledhill (Rochy)

17. Kyle Mueller (Ky)

16. Anthony Andronaco (Shepp)

15. Nick Warnock (Ben)

14. Nathan Marrone (Rochy)

13. Mitch Brett (Shepp)

12. Brad Ryan (Tat)

11. Tom Holman (Ky)

10. Zac Keogh (Sey)

9. Brad Mangan (Ky)

8. Will Martiniello (Ben)

7. JD Hayes (Eur)

6. Cam Valentine (Ech)

5. Lachie Smith (Ky)

4. Pat Wearden (Ky)

3. Jason Cole (Sey)

2. Mick Mattingly (Ky)

1. Andrew Walker (Ech)