All happening at Hill Top

By Tatura Guardian

Presentation night

Over 80 people enjoyed a wonderful meal at Hill Top on Saturday evening with the front table gleaming with the trophies won by men and women throughout the past 12 months. Women’s captain Terry Wangeman presented championship trophies to Lyn Fanning (B-grade), Mandy McGrath (C-grade) and Lois Rogers (D-grade) with club champion Jan Coe unfortunately absent. Jeff Baker once again read out some of the mishaps (shockers) perpetrated by members in the course of play and then Darren Cribbies, who was on the ground staff at Hill Top in the 60s, described his career which included time as head curator at a course in Hong Kong. Club captain Dave Cornwall then presented the men’s trophies with Matt Miller winning his third consecutive championship, Michael Downs winning B-grade and Les Walsh C-grade.

Jeff Baker was honoured for long service to the club by having the new Seniors’ Trophy named after him.

Michael Downs had a golden year, winning trophies for B-grade champion, seniors champion, Summer Cup, Hill Top Shield and Star Medallist which was comparable to Dusty Martin cleaning up everything at the AFL a couple of years ago.


Not content with winning on consecutive Thursday competitions, Bob Wildes won Saturday’s stroke competition with a round of 87-20-67, four shots clear of B-grade runner-up Glen Pearce. Usually troubled with inconsistency, Wildes had 41 on the front nine holes with four pars, another par on the 10th and a string of bogeys thereafter for a 47. Perhaps he is at last finding that consistency we all crave.

Fred Andrews won A-grade with 81-9-72 and Bryan Miller was runner-up with 73. NTP trophies went to Mark Wursthorn on the sixth and 14th, Brian Meneilly won NTP and the jackpot on the ninth but no one could claim for the third. In the ball run-down, Clive Merrigan had 73, Brian Meneilly, Ian Elders and Alex Howson 74, Lou Villani, Matt Miller, Les Walsh, Brad Deane, Mark Wursthorn and Brad Deane 75 on countback.

Winter Cup

The qualifiers to play off for the cup have been decided after two rounds with Bob Wildes number one playing number four James Ibbotson. Number two Bryan Miller will play number three Glenn Newton with semi-finals to be played by July 7.

Tournament Monday

The men’s fourball stableford was won by Lou Villani and Rocco Barca with 48 points with James Ibbotson and Trevor Allen runners-up with 44. The women’s event was won by Larysa Phillingham and Paula Wills with a sensational 51 points. Heather Gunstone and Marg Mould runners-up.


Scott Perry won Tuesday’s stroke competition with a score of 90-25-65 with Allan McGrath runner-up with 71. Sean Gledhill won NTP and consolation balls went to Graham Meneilly and Michael Downs 72.

Bob Wildes repeated his winning effort of a week ago taking out Thursday’s par event with +4 with John Keller +2 off a four handicap. Glen Pearce won NTP and line balls went to Allan McGrath and James Ibbotson +1, Ian Elders and Ray Coleman -1.

IGA chook run

Andrew Wills (aka Scooter) won Thursday’s event with a nett 33 with Matt Miller runner-up with 34 on a countback. In the ball run-down, John Hayward had 34, Sheryl Curran, Ty Guiney and Larysa Phillingham 36 on countback.

Coming events

Saturday’s competition is 4BBB vs Par and is sponsored by Ross and Lyn Kelly and on Monday, the GV veterans play at Hill Top.