Benalla bowls report

November 09, 2017


Benalla Bowls Club’s A1 side made it three wins in its opening four matches in a convincing victory over YMGCR.

Benalla’s top bowlers travelled to Yarrawonga for Saturday’s match, which saw the away side claim a further 16 competition points.

Skipper Matt Robertson oversaw his side’s 111-67 win with a 24 to 11 shots win.

That was followed up with wins from Robert Mitchell and Shawn McMahon.

The win sees Benalla retain a strong second-place position in the A1 weekend pennant, a single point behind league leader Wodonga.

Round five sees Benalla host winless eighth-placed Rutherglen on Saturday at the Benalla Bowls Club, from 1pm.

In other results, the A2 side faced Mansfield at home and recorded a 92-85 victory. G. McNutt won 24-21; J. Hodder won 31-15; J. Stevens won 25-24; D. Blyss lost 12-25.

The A4 side played Swanpool at home, and lost in a tight match 88-98. A. Campbell lost 15-35; T. Armstrong won 33-12 ; W. Johnson lost 17-19, S. Gardner lost 23-32.

The Benalla B1 side faced St. James at home and lost 56-89. M. White lost 22-29; R. Lockwood lost 13-29; H. Dartman lost 21-31.

In the B2 match, St James came to play, but could not topple Benalla as it went on to win 87-54. D. Brooker lost 18-23; J. Tabe won 38-15; K. Rainsbury won 31-16.

In the indoor bowls last week, three games of eight ends were played.

Winners on the day were V. Haag, V. King and L. Billman. Runners-up were W. Billman, Joan Lemin and M. Price.

Social bowls was played on Saturday, as two games of 12 ends in triples or pairs was played.

Winners were B. Higgins, G. Lange, M. Knezevic with two wins plus 16, and the runners-up were R. Nankervis, P. Keast and D. Horsburgh.

Senior citizens

Last Tuesday’s winners were R. Elkan (s), K. Black and J. Landwee. Runners-up were J. Quick (S), N. Elkan, R. Charlwood and L. Saunders.

Friday’s bowls saw winners in M. Debuck (s), V. Burke, B. Harper and H. Harper. Runners-up were D. Matthews (s), L. Saunders and J. McKinley.

Saturday’s winners were D. Matthews (s), B. Symes and A. Morris. Runners-up were F. Wright (S), K. Black, F. Roach, H. Harper and B. Harper.

More in Benalla Ensign News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text