Deni win Autumn pennant

Rod Fawns.
Helen Sides watches Ray Moye run the ball.

The Deniliquin pennant team comprising Leo Barry (captain), Alan Higgins, Brian Dudley, Terry Murphy and Ray Moye were the successful winners of the Goulburn Valley Croquet Association Autumn pennant competition.

The final was contested in Kyabram between Shepparton White and Deniliquin, with an evenly fought match that was decided at the last game.

Deniliquin won seven games, 72 hoops to 5 games, 68 hoops.

On Sunday, April 24, 20 members participated in croquet at the Deniliquin Croquet Club.

Andy Davis was the winner on a countback from Faye Druitt, both players being the only three game winners.

The two-game achievers included Megan Tonta, Doreen Peterson, Terry Murphy, Darren McLoughlin, Ray Moye, Leo Barry and Rod Fawns.

There were three jump shots for the day, including Darren McLoughlin with two, and Brad Fawns with one.

A hoop in one shot went to Judy Barry and Darren McLoughlin.

Croquet was washed out on Wednesday 27 April.

Deniliquin Croquet is hosting a social day today.

A field of 40 players including 28 from across the Goulburn Valley region will contest the play.

It is a four game competition with drawn partners.

Please be at the courts at 9.30am for 10am play.