Bowls notes

By Corowa Free Press

Corowa RSL Bowls Club

Weekend Pennant – Saturday October 12


Corowa RSL 98 def Benalla 90 

Best Rink – K Mills, A Bartlett, K Porter, W Lee.


Corowa RSL 77 def by Swanpool 94 

Best Rink – C Reilly, T Hovard, A. Jones, B Warburton.


Corowa RSL 63 def by Corowa Civic 71

Best Rink – D MacQueen, A Smith, J Holmquest, S Nixon. 

Club Singles – Sunday October 13

Ladies Quarter Final 

A Summerill def A Smith   

J Black def L Mills

K Hughes def M Jones   

L Way def P Lee

Ladies Semi Final

A Summerill def J Black 

K Hughes v L Way to be played Sunday, October 20. 

Mens Quarter Final

E King def K Mills

P Browne def K Porter 

Quarter Final games 

R Davis v K Widdison, S Widdison v A Holmquest to be played on Tuesday, October 15.

Corowa Civic Bowls Club

Australian Ladies Champion of Champions 

Corowa Civic Bowls Club are honoured to have Dawn Hayman on deck as a member and player, after the young bowler was crowned Ladies Champion of Champions last week.

Dawn represented NSW in the Champion of Champions being played at the South Perth Bowling Club in Western Australia.  She played seven games against representatives from other states and territories of Australia and won six of these games.  

Dawn is now Australian Ladies Champion of Champions, congratulations from all members at Corowa Civic Bowls Club.

Weekend Pennant

Division A1

Civic 89 def by Yarrawonga 95 

Division A1 travelled to Yarrawonga Bowls Club but unfortunately fell short by 6 shots. 

Division A4

Civic 80 def by Wodonga 91 

Division A4 were home to Wodonga. Graeme McIntosh’s rink had a good win 27–19,

Norm Carmody also had a great win 26–15, Rob Burns went down 13–34 as did Lynton Ford 14- 23.  

Division B2

Civic 63 def by Corowa RSL 71 

Division B2 played their game at Corowa RSL which was a nail biter right to the last shot.  

Peter King had a good win 25–15, Margaret Watson lost 21–24 and Ray McNulty’s rink won 25–24 on the last shot of the day.

Division B3

Civic 74 def Myrtleford 56

Division B3 were home to Mytleford. Fred Robinson had a narrow win 26–24, Bob Kilpatrick won well 27–13 and Sue Curtis had a 2 shot win 21–19.

Social Bowls 

A good turnout in fine and sunny conditions.

Winners – G McIntosh, S Rodway, B Corcoran and B. Shipcott.

Runners up – J Willett, A Taylor and J Smith.

Third – L Ford, B Corcoran, F Hicks and M Shipcott.

Men’s and Ladies Club Pairs  

The Men’s and Ladies Pairs was played on Sunday in lovely sunny conditions.  

The Ladies final will be held next Sunday, October 20 at 9.30am. June Burgess and Jan Wandel-Webber will playoff against Eileen Ide and Genise Mcfarlane.

Geoff Smethurst and Darren Richards will play against Col Hendren and Frank Martin in the Mens Semi-final. Len Reynolson and Wayne Mills await the winners of John Robinson and Jeff Smith versus John White and Ian Bilney.

Men’s & Ladies Club Singles  

Entries are now open for this event which will take place on Sunday November 3 at 9.30am.  

Please add your name to the list in the tunnel before entries close on October 27.

Corowa Indoor Bowls

The Corowa Indoor Bowls Club started their trial of Sunday afternoons with a good turnout and three mats down. 

Two mat winners on 18 and 16(34) were Peter Dodds, Daphne Banks and Steve Jones. The runners up also on two wins of 16 and 15(31) were, Ruth Backhouse, Beryl Greaves, Jan W Webber and Terry Fletcher.

One two mat winner on Tuesday with 19 and 15 being, Joe Wilson, Steve Jones, Gus Sander and Joan Catlin. The runners up with a loss and a win of 1 and 15 were Georgie Agnew, Beryl Greaves, Dawn Sander and Jan W Webber.