Benalla writing competition recognises the best

By Benalla Ensign

Benalla's budding writers and artists had their work recognised as part of the annual Benalla Festival writing and colouring competition last Thursday.

In its eighth year, the theme this time around was ‘Fiesta! of festivities’, and with more than 200 writing entries, along with 80 colouring entries, judging was extremely tough.

The writing competition was judged by Barabara Alexander, Selma Orton and Vince Branigan, while the colouring competition was judged by the Benalla Art Gallery, with winners taking home a number of prizes.

Writing competition winners

Grade 3/4:

First prize: Miley Woodstock

Second prize: Amy Lowe

Third prize: Brandon Testoni

Fourth prize: Mia Hopgood

Highly commended: Tayn Symes, Willow Stocker, Zac Fennell, Emily Milner, Ruby Richardson, Caleb McDiarmid

Grade 5/6:

First prize: Koren Bonnitcha

Second prize: Emily Buitenhuis

Third prize: Mitch Toms

Fourth prize: Freya Mount

Highly commended: Audrey Walker, Darren Vaughen, Flynn Mosely, Meredith Hollebone, Eliza Sammon

Grade 7/8:

First prize: Abby Odgen

Second prize: Ellen Sambell

Third prize: Oliver Hall

Highly commended: Jackson Tobias

Grade 9/10:

Highly commended: Max Wainwright

Grade 11/12:

First prize: Zoe Burke

Second prize: Jayden Dalgleish

Highly commended: April Tuddenham, Brooke Sellars


First prize: Pat Treveleaven

Second prize: Stacey Hall

Third prize: Carla Gardner

Highly commended: Cooinda Village residents (group entry), Betty Milligan

Colouring competition winners

Three-four-year old:

First prize: Indi Schirmer

Second prize: Darcy Wallis

Third prize: Lee-arah Houlihan

Five-six-year old:

First prize: Matilda Wallis

Second prize: Ted Clancy

Third prize: Daniel Doyle

Seven-eight-year old:

First prize: Lucas Edney

Second prize: Peyton Fowles

Third prize: Kayley Haskew-Jones

Nine-10-year old:

First prize: Claudia Kelly

Second prize: Xavier Hall

Third prize: Amelia (Australian Christian College Hume)


First prize: Jayhe-Lee Quattrocchi

Second prize: Rory Buntine

Third prize: Laura Fowles


First prize: Ellen Sambell

Second prize: Boree Carney

Third prize: Abby Ogden

Open age

First prize: Carolynne Taylor

Second prize: Patience Cooper

Third prize: Allan Jones