Time running out to nominate for a Community History Award

Community: The Benalla Family Research Group is just one local organisation dedicated to preserving the Rose City’s history. Photo by Simon Ruppert

The Victorian Community History Awards are held annually to recognise the contributions made by Victorians in the preservation of the state’s fascinating history.

Presented by Public Record Office Victoria and the Royal Historical Society of Victoria, the awards celebrate the people involved in community history projects who are dedicated to telling their local stories and help Victorians to better understand their past.

Entries are now open for 2022 across the following categories:

  • Victorian Premier's History Award ($5000 prize);
  • Collaborative Community History Award ($2000);
  • Local History Project Award ($2000);
  • History Publication Award ($2000);
  • Small History Publication Award ($1500);
  • Small Organisation History Project Award ($1500) - new in 2022;
  • Community Diversity Award ($1500);
  • Digital Storytelling Award ($1500);
  • Historical Interpretation Award ($1500);
  • Oral History Award presented in collaboration with Oral History Victoria ($1500); and
  • History Article Award ($500)

Last year’s award winners included the End of an Era project about the Last Gippsland Lakes Fisherman, Castlemaine theatre production Finding Fanny Finch, and A History of LGBTIQ+ Victoria in 100 Places and Objects from the Australian Queer Archives.

Director and keeper of public records Justine Heazlewood said other past award-winning and commended projects had included local history publications and exhibitions by history groups and museums; sports histories by local clubs and fans; honour boards and displays by RSLs and schools; and individual documentary projects, publications, apps and websites by individuals seeking to share the stories of their towns, businesses and local people.

“We are pleased to once again celebrate the local historians working hard to preserve the important stories of our past,” Ms Heazlewood said.

All entries must be received by 5pm Friday, July 8. For more information visit prov.vic.gov.au