Shield and Harris take championship honours

Victory: Kevin Keane was the Deniliquin Bowling Club's B-grade singles champion.

Deniliquin Bowling Club held its presentation night recently, with the club championship winners receiving their awards in front of a crowd of 50.

Jamie Shields and Linda Harris took out the club championship honours.

Congratulations to all the winners and runners- up for the year.

Shields won the men’s club singles championship, while runner-up was Simon Chisholm.

The men’s club pairs winners were David Hessel and John Flisher, while runners-up were Stephen King and Lloyd Ritchie.

The men’s B-grade singles championship trophy was won by Kevin Keane, while Stuart Treble was runner-up.

The men’s B-grade pairs honours went to Glen Thorsen and Keith Hay, with Colin Knuckey and Lee Pattinson finished runners-up.

The Ray Anderson Memorial award was won by Stuart Treble, with Paul Snare runner-up.

In the men’s club triples, Jamie Shields, Paul Snare and Tony Danckert took the championship honours, ahead of runners-up Simon Chisholm, Stuart Treble and Tom Todd.

The men’s club championship fours was won by Jamie Shields, Paul Snare, Tony Danckert and Alan Hardcastle.

Runners-up were Stephen O’Brien, Peter Chadderton, Mick Donohue and John Murray.

The ladies’ club singles championship title went to Linda Harris, while Fay Munnerley was runner-up.

In the women’s B-grade singles, Caryn Hillier was the championship winner, with Maxine Norton runner-up.

The ladies’ club triples champion title went to Glenys Chessells, Maxine Norton and Linda Harris.

Runners-up were Brenda Leetham, Caryn Hillier and Joanne Bovell.

The ladies’ club pairs championship trophy was won by Dawn McCulloch and Toni Brooksby, while Winner Pattinson and Linda Harris were runners-up.

The club held its annual general meeting on Sunday.

Steve O'Brien was installed as the new club president, while Dallas Kitchin and Mark Law were also added to the board of directors to replace outgoing members Rob Morris and Mark Tasker.

Preceding the AGM, the pennant bowls meeting was conducted, where the following were appointed as selectors for the upcoming pennant season: Shane Laing, Paul Snare, Jamie Shields, Graham Nisbet and Stuart Treble.

All prospective pennant players are reminded that they must indicate their intention to play no later than June 10.

The club is hosting the open triples this weekend with teams from NSW and Victoria making the trek to compete in five games over 16 ends.

Play starts at 10am on Saturday and 9.15am on Sunday, which promises to be two days of quality bowls.