Benalla golf club

January 25, 2018


Benalla Golf Club’s monthly medal was taken home by Cameron Symes with a top score of 68.

Saturday’s tournament had a small field of 44 players.

Second to Symes in A-grade was Josh Mellington with a score of 81-11/70.

In B-grade James Dalton was successful on countback with a score of 96-25/71 placing Ryan Harper second.

Wednesday was a stableford round with 64 players.

In A-grade, Symes again was successful with 40 points, placing Roger Cowan second on 39.

B-grade was taken out by Tyson Booker with 42 points, from John Broadbent on 40.

Gerard Mahoney in C-grade made 41 points to defeat Graeme Budd by three shots.


Nearest the Pins: 8th Srixon/Golf Shop: Alan Moore, 13th Spalding/Golf Shop: Ian Wise.

Eagle : James Dalton (1st). NAGA: Graham Ellis.

Ball Competition: 71 N. Cook, 72 A. Papworth, 73 A. May, B, Munro, T. Symes, 75 B. Dosser, D. Quinn.

Nearest the Pins: 3rd Golf Shop: Peter Houghton, 8th Golf Shop: Adam Bowditch, 12th Ray White : Ian Wise, 13th Fruits ‘n’ Fare: Adam Bowditch.

KFC Birdies: Ian Wise. Ball Competition: 39 P. Purcell, B. Symes, 38 D. Taylor, 37 R. Day, R. DeCrespigny, A. Moore, K. Muir, I. Wise, 36 T. Banfield, a. Bowditch,G. Henry, T. Meagher.


The story of the month at the women’s golf was no doubt Marion Cowan’s first hole in one, in more than 60 years playing the game.

The hot weather has seen smaller fields throughout January, but some good results have still come about.

On January 4, the stableford winners were division one, Cowan 36 points, division two, Jessie Milner 44 points.

Balls to M. Brown 37, J. Baker 36, V. Nicholas 35.


Nearest the pin: 3rd T. Barry, Milner-Watson Pharmacy 8th M. Cowan, Golf Shop 13th H. Crilly. Saturday 6th January stableford winner was Marsha Watson with 37 points.

NTP 3rd M. Watson, 13th J. Martin. Thursday 10th stableford winners were Division 1 Trish Barry 37, Division 2 Coral Day 38. Balls to H. Briggs 35, M. Cowan 33, H. Crilly 33.

NTP 3rd T. Barry, 8th S. Sykes, 12th T. Barry, 13th J. Martin, 14th H. Briggs. Saturday 13th January stableford winners were Division 1 Marsha Watson 35, division 2 Jo McKean 39. Balls to S. Milner 35, D. Shanks 35, C. Garratt 34, H. Hyland 34.

NTP 3rd H. Briggs, 8th H. Hyland, 12th B. Lang, 13th H. Briggs, 14th H. Crilly. Thursday 18th January stroke winner was Marion Cowan 95(20)75.

NTP 8th M. Watson, 12th J. Rubira, 13th B. Lang, 14th R. Foletta.

More in Benalla Ensign News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text